The ten closest arrivals to the 2021 NASCAR season


10. Austin Cindric vs. Brett Moffitt – Daytona Xfinity – 0.104s

Cindric started his title defense off on the right foot with a win in the season opener at Daytona, controlling the final laps of the race and denying Moffitt his first Xfinity Series victory.

9. Brad Keselowski v William Byron – Talladega Cup – 0.102 s

Keselowski’s last victory as a Team Penske driver. At Talladega, he beat Byron under the checkered flag for his 35th career victory and what would ultimately be his final behind the wheel of the No.2 machine before becoming co-owner / driver of Roush Keselowski Fenway Racing.

8. Myatt Snider vs. Brandon Jones – Homestead Xfinity – 0,085s

Snider earned his first career victory over NXS at the start of the 2021 season, leading just five laps after a tough back-and-forth battle for the lead at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

7. AJ Allmendinger vs. Austin Cindric – Bristol Xfinity – 0.082s

One of the most spectacular arrivals of the year came in the NASCAR Xfinity Series regular season finale at Bristol Motor Speedway. Chaos of three doors and slamming doors ensued on the short half-mile track, culminating in a photo finish and a massive crash just past the checkered flag. Allmendinger’s victorious car even had to be towed to Victory Lane.

6. Ryan Blaney vs. William Byron – Michigan Cup – 0.077s

The closest finish to the NASCAR Cup Series season came on one of its biggest tracks with Ryan Blaney fending off William Byron. Blaney took first place for the first time on a restart on lap 193/200 and hasn’t looked back, leading the final eight laps as compatriot Byron unsuccessfully tried to get back in front.

5. Noah Gragson vs. Austin Cindric – Martinsville Xfinity – 0.064s

Gragson secured his place in Championship 4 with this impressive victory at Martinsville after leading more than half of the race. The victory was the fifth in his NXS career, pushing 2020 Series champion Cindric in battle to the line. He would finish third in the final points classification.

4. Tate Fogleman vs. Tyler Hill – Talladega Trucks – 0.052s

After sending John-Hunter Nemechek away, it was a clash between the underdogs as Fogleman beat the gates with Hill at the line and won for the very first time in his brief career. It was also Hill’s best career result, and the first time either driver had finished in the top five.

3. Ben Rhodes v Jordan Anderson – Daytona Trucks – 0.036s

The eventual CWTS 2021 champion started the year with a win in the season opener, denying Jordan Anderson and Cory Roper what could have been their first trip to Victory Lane. Rhodes will later close the year by also winning the final and winning the Truck Series championship.

2. Daniel Hemric vs. Austin Cindric – Phoenix Xfinity – 0.030s

In a climatic NXS Championship final, Hemric and Cindric swapped paint and came out of the final corner. Hemric won, taking his first-ever win after going winless in his first 119 starts. They slammed the wings not only for the victory, but also for the title. Hemric could celebrate both his debut career and the title on the same night in one of the most memorable season finals in recent history.

1. Justin Haley vs. AJ Allmendinger – Daytona Xfinity 0.023s

In a Kaulig Racing 1-2, Haley narrowly beat his teammate to the closest finish of the 2021 season, in the NXS playoff race at Daytona. The victory was the fourth in Haley’s NXS career, all won on superspeedways.

Source link


Comments are closed.