8th Annual Seattle Film Festival Draws Internationally and Nationally Renowned Talent


MURMUR director Mark Polish accepts his award at the Seattle Film Festival awards gala

The 8th Annual Seattle Film Festival has successfully wrapped up its 2022 festival with winners including Susan Sarandon, Mark Polish and Mariette Hartley.

SEATTLE, WA, USA, Oct. 27, 2022 /EINPresswire.com/ — The 8th Annual Seattle Film Festival successfully wrapped up its 2022 festival from September 30-October 16 with nearly 200 original films screened in theaters and live. online by eminent filmmakers from around the world. the world.

Celebrating the US premiere, Indie Spirit Award winner Mark Polish received the Grand Jury Prize for Best Director for his groundbreaking vision in his new augmented reality horror film, MURMUR. The film also won Best American Feature and Best Ensemble Cast.

Oscar winner Susan Sarandon won Best Supporting Actress for
40 Winks, Will Parker’s feature directorial debut, which also won two additional awards.

Emmy Award-winning actress Mariette Hartley won Best Actress in a Feature Film for Our Almost Completely True Story, which she wrote and produced with husband Jerry Sroka.

Six-time Emmy Award-winning producer Mary O’Leary received Best Director for a feature-length documentary, Dark Shadows and Beyond – The Jonathan Frid Story.

Co-directors Abe Goldfarb and James Darling received the Grand Jury Prize for Best Feature Film for their world premiere of First Time Caller. Goldfarb also won Best Actor for his role written by Mac Rogers and produced by Patrick Terry.

The Best Documentary Feature award went to producer Tara Wyatt for Song for Hope, a story about the incredible accomplishments of Ryan Anthony, renowned principal trumpet of the Canadian Brass and Dallas Symphony Orchestra, who was only a few months old. to live.

Northwestern filmmaker Paul Bright’s latest film, the slimy campy comedy Pocket Mouse Protector, won honors for Best LGBTQ Feature.

The Jury’s Grand Prize for Short Film went to American Dream, which stars Julia Garcia Combs and Tony Award nominee Alfred Molina. It was written by Asher Huey and directed by Angela Garcia Combs with production from Tara Craig and Meredith Riley Stewart.

Gracie Fojtik’s Salty celebrated its world premiere by winning Best American Short Film. Writer and star Fojtik co-directed with Dinah Berkeley and Lily Harris.

Local filmmakers Chris Rodriguez and Aleah Chapin won the festival’s Seattle Filmmaker Award for their documentary Walking Backwards.

Tony K. Hall’s Lonesome won the People’s Choice Award, making it the film’s second win at this year’s festival.

For more information about the festival and the awards, please visit:

Michael Rey
The Seattle Film Festival
write to us here
Visit us on social media:


Comments are closed.